Consulate-General banner image 21K

General information for entering Hungary

Hungary joined the Schengen Area on 19 December 2007. From that time visas and residence permits issued by one of the Schengen Member States are valid also for Hungary, and visas/residence permits issued by Hungarian authorities are - as a general rule - also valid for the entire Schengen Area.

As of 19 December 2011, 26 states are part of the Schengen Area: 22 states of the 27 members of the European Union (Austria, Belgium, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, the Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain and Sweden) as well as Norway, Iceland, Switzerland and Lichtenstein. (For the time being 5 member states of the European Union, i.e. Bulgaria, Cyprus, Ireland, Romania and the United Kingdom do not issue Schengen visas.)

The Schengen regulations are only applicable for a stay not exceeding 90 days. Rules for a stay longer than 90 days are laid down by the national law of the member states concerned.

New Zealand passport holders

Short Term Stay (not exceeding the 90-day period)

New Zealand passport holders are exempt from any visa requirement when travelling to Hungary on condition that their visit does not exceed the 90-day period of visa-free stay (unless intending to apply for a residence permit exceeding 90 days upon arrival as per guidelines below).

Please note that in accordance with Article 5 (1) (a) of the Schengen Borders Code (entered into force 19 July 2013) travel documents of third-country nationals requires that:

Long Stay (period exceeding 90 days)

New Zealand passport holders intending to stay in Hungary for a period exceeding 90 days enter Hungary without a visa on the visa waiver agreement and apply for the long stay residence permit from within Hungary at a regional directorate of the Office for Immigration and Nationality in Hungary [Link is in Hungarian. Select required language at site].

Guidelines for the Entry for Long Stay (period exceeding 90 days)PDF graphic icon (PDF), 4pp, 261KB

Schengen visas for third nationals requiring a visa to enter Hungary

>The Embassy of Switzerland in Wellington issues short term Schengen visas on behalf of Hungary for passport holders resident in New Zealand who require a short term Schengen visa to enter Hungary.

Please note that the Embassy of Switzerland in Wellington only accepts applications from residents of New Zealand who are travelling mainly to Hungary.

Embassy of Switzerland, Wellington
Street Address: Level 12, Maritime Tower, 10 Customhouse Quay, Wellington 6140
Postal Address: PO Box 25004, Wellington 6146
Tel: +64 4 472 1593
>Office hours: 8.30 a.m.-12 noon, Mon-Fri (Consular)

Guidelines for Short Term Stay (not exceeding the 90 days period)PDF graphic icon (PDF), 7pp, 498KB